Black Studies in Art and Design Education Symposium @ Parsons

Standard

The Black Studies in Art and Design Education conference will take place at the Anna-Maria and Stephen Kellen Auditorium at the Sheila C. Johnson Design Center at Parsons, 66 Fifth Avenue, and is free and open to the public. My mentor and undergrad graphic design professor, Michele Washington and her colleague, Mabel O. Wilson, will be on the Curricular Reform in the Foundation and Advanced Studio Courses panel on Saturday, March 26.

2 responses »

  1. Hi – I’ll be attending the event. I may go to the 4pm session on Saturday, but I’ll be there all day on Sunday. I’m looking to enter design school in the fall. Hope to see you there!

    -Amanda

    • Hi Amanda! The Curricular Reform in the Foundation and Advanced Studio Courses panel on Saturday resonated with me. It included professors of graphic design, fashion, foundation art and architecture. It was great to hear the perspective of professors of color, their experiences as professional designers as well as when they were students, and the successes and challenges they’ve encountered. Many people of color don’t get introduced to art and design early enough to really begin the training and the thought process that is necessary to get into major art programs. When I think of the state of the arts in public education today, it’s plain to me that any introduction to the arts has to come from supportive families and communities. There were plenty of layers to the presentations and the post presentation discussion was very exciting and thought-provoking. I want to teach graphic design and this conference encouraged me. What are your thoughts? It’s a shame I missed you at the conference. I would love to hear more about your design school endeavor. ~Crystal

Leave a comment